Board of 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Commissioners

The Florida Constitution states the governing body of each county shall be a Board of 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Commissioners composed of five members serving staggered terms of four years, except when otherwise provided by the county charter.

After each 10-year census, the Board of 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Commissioners shall divide the county into districts of contiguous territory as nearly equal in population as practicable. One commissioner residing in each district shall be elected by the electors of the county.

Duties of the Board of 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Commissioners

  • Review and pass the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app budget and levy taxes.
  • Make appropriations for the operation of the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app as identified in the budget.
  • Authorize bonds for capital improvements.
  • Manage 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app properties through the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Administrator.
  • Confirm division and department heads appointed by the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Administrator
  • Appoint special boards and committees.
  • Establish policy which, through the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Administrator, filters down to department heads and others who carry it out.
  • Present ordinances to the public for hearings and then vote whether or not to adopt them for inclusion in the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Code.
Commissioner Mayor Commissioner
Mayor Pro Tem Commissioner
District 1
Email Craig Cates

500 Whitehead Street
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
District 2
Email Michelle Coldiron

25 Ships Way
Big Pine Key, FL 33043
District 3
Email Eddie Martinez

530 Whitehead Street,
Suite 102
Key West, FL 33040
District 4
Email David Rice

9400 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 210
Marathon, FL 33050
District 5
Email Mike Forster

102050 Overseas Hwy,
Suite 234
Key Largo, FL 33037

The District Breakdown

  • District 1: East part of Key West, Stock Island, Key Haven
  • District 2: Boca Chica through 7 Mile Bridge, including the north side of US 1 to 63rd Court in Marathon
  • District 3: West part of Key West
  • District 4: Marathon, not including District 2, through Plantation Key with a small west end of Tavernier
  • District 5: Tavernier through Ocean Reef


The 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Board of 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Commissioners usually meets on the third Wednesday of every month at 9 a.m. at one of the following three locations:

Murray E Nelson Government Center
102050 Overseas Highway
Key Largo, FL 33037
March, June, September, December

Marathon Government Center
2798 Overseas Highway
Marathon, FL 33050
January, April, July, October

Harvey Government Center
1200 Truman Avenue
Key West, FL 33040
February, May, August, November

ADA Assistance

If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in meeting proceedings, please contact the 皇冠体育官方app体育官方app Administrator’s Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."